Publishing News

2024 Hans Christian Andersen Award: Winners Announced at Bologna Children’s Book Fair

2024 hans christian andersen awardees

On April 8, during the 61st annual Bologna Children’s Book Fair, the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) revealed the 2024 Hans Christian Andersen Award winners.

In 2024, the accolades went to Austria's Heinz Janisch for his contributions to writing and Canada's Sydney Smith for his excellence in illustration.

This prestigious award, given biennially, is the highest international recognition offered to authors and illustrators of children's literature.

Heinz Janisch

Heinz Janisch, an accomplished author and a veteran of radio journalism, has been recognized for his significant contributions to children's literature. He is an editor at a children's magazine and has penned various creative works, including picture books, poetry, and screenplays.

His notable books include The King and the Sea, Why is the Snow White? and Noah’s Ark. His unique literary approach often captures the profound within the simple, offering readers glimpses into the sublime hidden in everyday life. His work is characterized by its focus on poems and miniature narratives, which reveal the depth and complexity of seemingly trivial moments.

Sydney Smith

Sydney Smith, the celebrated illustrator, has contributed to several notable picture books such as I Talk Like the River and My Baba’s Garden, both collaborations with author Jordan Scott, as well as his creations like Do You Remember and Small in the City.

The jury commended Smith for his approach to picture books, which blur the line between child and adult readers, offering deep insights into human emotions and experiences that resonate across all ages.

The recipients' medals will be presented at the next IBBY Congress, which will take place from August 30 to September 1 in Trieste, Italy.

Related posts

Are you looking for something on PublishDrive?