Publishing News

The Wainwright Prize: Celebrating a Decade of Nature Writing

The Wainwright Prize Shortlists

For a decade, the Wainwright Prize has awarded exceptional nature and conservation writings for adults and children.

In a world increasingly confronted by environmental issues, it is easy to understand the relevance of the Wainwright Prize

In honor of the late nature writer Alfred Wainwright, the award is backed by the Alfred Wainwright Estate and Frances Lincoln, publisher of the Wainwright Guides. The award ceremony will be hosted in Kendal, England, on September 14 during the Kendal Mountain Festival.

This year, the Wainwright Prize announced three categories: nature writing, conservation writing, and children's writings on nature and conservation. Independent publishers dominate the shortlist, with Walker Books standing out in the children's category.

Nature Writing Shortlist

For the nature writing shortlist, jurors include Ray Mears, James Aldred, the 2022 recipient, Amber Harrison, Charlotte Smith, and Anjana Khatwa.

Featured titles are:

Conservation Writing Shortlist

The conservation writing category sees the expertise of jurors Craig Bennett, Mark Cropper, Sir John Lawton, Lee Schofield, and Lucy Siegle. 

Shortlisted titles include:

Children Category

The children's writing category jurors include Mark Funnell, Ben Shires, Roisin Taylor, Kate McCloskey, and Helen Musselwhite. 

Selected titles include: 

Past winners of the Wainwright Nature Writing Prize include Goshawk Summer by James Aldred (2022), English Pastoral by James Rebanks (2021), and The Diary of a Young Naturalist by Dara McAnulty (2020).

The importance of awards like the Wainwright Prize in a world grappling with environmental crises cannot be overstated. Such platforms spotlight the intricate bond between humanity and nature, urging readers to be more conscious and appreciative of the world around them.

Related posts

Are you looking for something on PublishDrive?